Yo Si Puedo! And Tidbits of News.

I get tired of the whole write-about-your-everyday-life thing. Maybe I just don’t know how to do it well enough to be interesting. I’ve got to work on that.

But whenever I want to write about theology, or philosophy, or biblical hermeneutics, or other religions, or anything else mildly controversial, I have to consider my audience and I know that I can’t do it. That I’m not in a mature-enough place where I can speak or write to the general public about those things in a modified form. But one day, I really want to be in that place. So this is a pretty good place to start.

Besides. One of my New Year’s resolutions was to be myself, right? (See, that was a joke. I said I wanted to be myself but then said “right?” like I needed confirmation from an outside source. My sense of humor is fantastic).

So, I’m not going to tell myself that I can’t do things! Not just because we came back from Aberdeen empty-handed and brokenhearted. If I want to teach, I’m going to try and  get there. If I want to write well, I’m going to start on it now (in fact, I just edited out a couple of mild curse words to make this blog a little more general-public-friendly. Look at me, already starting!). If I want to live in New Mexico/Arizona/Colorado/West Texas, then I’m not going to say I can’t because I have roots somewhere else. Life is too short.

Am I still a little lost after all that’s happened? Definitely. But I am confident that I’m right where I’m supposed to be. Not because I think God has had a plan for all eternity that fills in every detail of our lives, but because I know that God is with me now, spurring me on toward communion. And I think that communion is found in living life.

In other news:

I’m reading the Hunger Games trilogy. The books are amazing, and I think and dream about the story when I’m not reading it. Amen for being able to read novels again.

I built a desk for my new office all by myself. It’s one of those boxed ones from Office Depot that’s all particle board, but we had to get something in pieces so it would fit up the narrow and steep stairwell. The point is, I did it and Logan only had to help me with lifting a heavy piece and with a drawer that wasn’t working. During the process, I got so heated that I took off my boots, socks, tights, sweater, and necklace, but I successfully left my dress on.  Just call me Tim the Toolman Taylor.

I’m trying to be more healthy about food, and Logan is too. For instance, I had spinach salad, carrots and a chocolate Walmart-brand slim fast for lunch today. Aaaaand I’m hungry.

Outside my office window is a two-story house that several folks live in, and I have a pretty exciting time watching them do drug deals. Okay, I haven’t seen one yet, but I’m hoping to see one, and I have a strategy worked out as to where I will crouch to hide so I will still be able to see crimes. In the meantime, I’m taking notes on how to wear a dirty tank top, chain smoke, and drive a creepster van while still looking classy. Nancy Drew, girl detective.

I had a dream last night that a random stranger tried to splash acid on me in a mall. I’ve got to stop watching the news and/or drinking citrus Emergen-C before going to bed.

If you ever come to my house, please unplug everything in the kitchen and turn off the lights before using the microwave.

I guess that’s it.

One thought on “Yo Si Puedo! And Tidbits of News.

Leave a Reply

