Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope/Ready

So, I teamed up with The Daily Post and am going to try to write at least one post per week. Also, I’m going to do the Daily Post’s Weekly Photo Challenge, which means that I post a photo that goes along with the theme of the week. This week, it’s READY. I got the idea from my dear friend Vicki, who lives in Aberdeen and took Logan and I under her wing. She’s one of the kindest and most fun people I’ve ever met, and I think pretty highly of her and her husband. Here’s a link to her blog, which tells of all her adventures traveling in Europe.

Last week’s challenge was HOPE, so I combined the two in this photo:

As in, one day I HOPE I’ll be READY to tackle a Master’s degree. These two printouts are just a couple of things I’m interested in; no decisions made or anything. Since Logan is applying to the Anthropology program at NMSU, I figured I’d better look into New Mexico schools too.

What is it that I want to do with my life? I’ve been having an existential crisis as of late. I know what I DON’T want to do…live my life in an office doing something I have to just to get by, then going home to regret my life decisions until I have to go to bed and do it all again the next day. If I am going to sit in an office for 8 hours a day, which would be okay, I at least want to be doing something to make a difference somewhere. Not just trying to make money so that I can save for retirement, where I will finally have time to enjoy life.

But what can I do to make a difference? It’s a big question. I think education is extremely valuable, so teaching would be good. I like learning new things and talking about them with other people. I want to help others understand life and love and God more so they can go forth to do their own part to make a difference in the world. I want to encourage them to read and write about what matters to them, and to think globally and ethically. I want to discuss what it means to be human.

So you tell me:  what should I be when I grow up? I’m ready to figure it out.

One thought on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope/Ready

  1. I am still waiting to discover what I shall be “when I grow up”…currently trying out becoming a Speech Therapist, although I still may use my Teaching degree and go back to the classroom :) You are doing a fabulous job and I can’t wait to read more about your adventures!

Leave a Reply

