Meet Me, the Job-Getter

As you may have inferred from my subtle and eloquent title, I GOT A JOB! And it’s actually one I’m pretty excited about!

An hour or so after the interview, I got the phone call while at Schlotzsky’s. Which I am also proud of, because they make a good sandwich.

I’ll be an admissions consultant/recruiter for HSU…that means we’re moving back to Abilene, people. I think you’ll all remember the post where I said goodbye to our beloved Abilene, and I’m sure you are all as happy as I am that I will yet again have access to Guitars, the crappy Carmike theater, my awesome friends, and bottomless mugs from Monks. But those parking tickets from lack of parking spaces? NOT HAPPENING, BECAUSE I’LL BE ON STAFF, SUCKERS!

I will basically be recruiting new students to HSU—-meeting with them and their parents, traveling to do college fairs/presentations, and a lot of other stuff I’m sure I’ll find out about very soon when I start. I say very soon because it starts in a little over 2 weeks.

The other good news is that we have a place to live. We will be back at our old apartment complex until August, when we will move into an off-campus house that the university owns. At first, they told me they were full for the fall, but then I got another call saying they had ONE MORE house available…it’s been a good week.

The kind of bad news is, Logan won’t be moving to Abilene until the end of July/beginning of August. He’s going to stay on at his work here to keep the money coming in while he looks for a part-time job in the fall, so I’ll be living and working in Abilene by myself for three months. We’ll visit each other on the weekends of course, but it’s still going to be pretty hard. I’m not looking forward to that part.

And yes, it’s ANOTHER MOVE (which makes the fifth and hopefully final move we’ve done during our first year of marriage), but it will also be the first time this year that we will truly feel settled. I’ll be working full-time at a job I think I will really like and that is hopefully a step toward what I want to do in my career, and Logan will be getting his Master’s degree. We will have friends. We will be part of a truly wonderful church. We will be able to stay in the same city for more than six months. There will be Monday Mug Madness at Cypress Street, summer nights of grilling out and swimming, and weekly trips to Target and Ross. There will be Sharky’s Burritos.

There will be life. There will be some form of peace for a while (I hope).

Please say a prayer for us as we make another change and figure this thing out.

2 thoughts on “Meet Me, the Job-Getter

  1. Pingback: Hello 2013! « Alyssa Rasco

Leave a Reply

