On the Move Again

As I gear up for my fifth move this year (counting moving Logan into my apartment after we got married…hey, I helped), you might say that I’m somewhat of a veteran. Plus, since I’ve lived in this same apartment before, I know what I’ll need (a rug and Scentsy to make it homey), and I know what dumb stuff not to bring (fourteen different towels, my gigantic crock pot and mixer that won’t fit in the cabinets). One of the best parts is that I can leave a bunch of stuff with Logan, so I don’t need to take all my winter coats or 65,392 books. PLUS my old bed and Logan’s loveseat and  coffee table are still in storage in Abilene, so I already have most of the big stuff taken care of!

Here’s my list of stuff to pack:

  • Dresser/mirror
  • Nightstand
  • Rug
  • TV and DVD player
  • Bedding
  • Towels
  • Clothes/Shoes
  • Half the dishes/cookware/kitchen utensils/towels
  • Keurig coffee maker
  • Shower curtain
  • Some books and DVDs
  • Scentsy
  • A few posters/pictures for the wall
  • Office stuff
  • General everyday stuff

You may have noticed that there was no “Mona” or “Simone de Beauvoir” or “Kitty Cat” on this list. That is because I read somewhere that cats can have some trauma when you move, so I thought if we just moved her once in August it might be easier for her. Has anyone else heard that? Am I being dumb and overprotective? I just don’t want her little kitty feelings to get in a tizzy. Kriss:  That means you won’t get to meet her in person (in kitty?) until August. I’m sorry :(

Anyway, we’re just excited that we won’t have to make multiple trips or rent a U-Haul. One trip with both our vehicles will take care of it. SO EASY.

I haven’t done much yet to pack except for making a small pile near the door. I still need to do laundry, purge, and condense.

But here is one question plaguing my mind:  Should I take ALL the seasons of Gilmore Girls?

My mind tells me no, but my heart tells me yes. Last time we moved, I separated them, and thought I had lost the other half forever. I even posted on Facebook that if I had let someone borrow them for them to GIVE THEM BACK. As it turns out, they were in a box in the back closet of my dad’s work office. Now I think they will have separation anxiety from one another if I only take half. Oh, the humanity.

The days leading up to Moving Day drag on. But not really, because I’m enjoying spending time with Logan. He’s taking me on a hot date tonight to see The Lucky One (I’ll actually have two hot dates:  Logan and Zac Efron), because sometimes I am a girl and need to see sappy movies. That reminds me:  I’m going to be able to watch as many Lifetime movies as I want this summer because Logan won’t be there to say, “Come on, let’s watch MythBusters instead.”

(Please don’t judge me for watching Lifetime movies. If you do, fine, just remember that I also named my cat Simone de Beauvoir and that I think The Bachelor is stupid).

(Since this is embarrassing TV confession time, I also watch every episode of The Real Housewives. It’s a sickness).

(Feel free to admit to me your embarrassing TV shows so I won’t feel alone).

Speaking of TV shows, I made a list of shows to watch this summer to distract myself while I’m away from Logan. Here’s what I’ve got so far:

  • Downton Abbey
  • The Wire
  • Game of Thrones
  • The new season of True Blood
  • Girls
  • Big Love

I’m already watching Breaking Bad, and I think the 4th season comes out soon. I also want to watch The Sopranos, but I need to wait and watch that with Logan. Any other ideas for me?

Have a happy Friday everyone :)

6 thoughts on “On the Move Again

  1. Used to have a cat carrier – so will look for it to move miss mona! She will be fine – just need to keep her inside for a while after the move. Love that you are still blogging and love to read it – especially when we are missing you guys!

  2. I hope I get to meet her! Unless I have found a job somewhere else by then. Who knows. She will probably be really nervous and hate it and act weird for a while. But since she is in indoor cat I think it will be easier because she wont have to get used to her larger surroundings. That’s the hard part, finding her ground and knowing where home is and where danger zones are. She will be safe and sound inside though! She will just look out the window and love that. When I moved my cat he loved looking out the window but would NOT go outside.

    TV Shows: Happy Endings, Once Upon a Time, Vampire Diaries, Up All Night, The Wonder Years. Those are what I am into right now.

  3. Pingback: Hello 2013! « Alyssa Rasco

Leave a Reply

