Daydreams

 

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about where I want to “end up” one day. Most of the time, I consider my profession:

Maybe I’ll be an Old Testament and Hebrew professor, who spends time teaching, grading, making lessons plans, serving on committees, and researching for my next article or book review. I’ll say things like “Babylonian captivity” and “Qal Imperfect” on an everyday basis.

Or, I’ll be a stay-at-home mom and professional writer, blogging, taking care of the house and kid(s), and doing volunteer work for the church. I’ll know how cook a turkey, I’ll feed the homeless, and I’ll buy fresh flowers once every couple of weeks (don’t laugh, moms, that’s why they call it a daydream).

Perhaps I’ll work at a small publishing company, reading and editing, drinking lots of coffee and leaving rings on manuscripts. In my head, I usually only see this happening in New York City, which I know is because I’ve seen the movie The Proposal too many times. (Sidenote:  I do not want to live in New York, in case you were worrying).

Another possibility is that I’ll be a house flipper/furniture re-doer. I will use my hands to make ugly things beautiful. I’ll put in a hard day’s work and work up a sweat, wear oversized button-up shirts, and be able to make my own schedule. Sometimes, I may stay up all night to scrape off bathroom tiles while drinking wine and listening to the radio (and I don’t even drink wine). The people at Home Depot will know me by name.

A million other professions have crossed my mind–high school English teacher, realtor, academic advisor at a college, city councilwoman. I want to do something that makes a difference. I want to be the person who calls BS on people doing things with the wrong motives, or I at least want to have a job where I don’t have to pretend to be someone I’m not. I want to make my corner of the world a better place. I want a lot of things. Claro que si, life is not perfect and I will not get ALL of these things.

So at the end of the day, when I think about what I want to be when I grow up and I’m still not sure, this is what I picture:  I wake up with the dawn, pour a cup of coffee, wrap myself in a robe, and step out onto my balcony to view the sun rising over the mountains/valley/treetops in the chill of morning. That’s it. Sure, sometimes the details change in my head. Sometimes the coffee mug is one of those cool original handcrafted pottery ones. The scenery differs, too. It could be Buffalo Gap, Big Bend area, New Mexico, Colorado, wherever. It doesn’t have to be on a balcony. But if I am at peace — if I can rise early, have my coffee, be out in the open space, take care of my family, be in a church community– maybe it won’t matter if don’t have the perfect job.

Any career suggestions/sage advice?

3 thoughts on “Daydreams

  1. Pingback: Hello 2013! « Alyssa Rasco

Leave a Reply

