The Abilene Farmer’s Market

image

After living in Abilene since 2008 (give or take a year away), I finally visited the Abilene Farmer’s Market.

I had always driven by the covered area with the big sign out front, but I had never been up and about early enough to catch it. For those who are interested, it’s on the corner of 3rd and Mesquite, across from Frontier Texas. They are open every Tuesday, Saturday and Sunday from sunrise til noon. Here is their Facebook page.

This morning, they had basketfuls of onions, bell peppers, squash, zucchini, okra, local honey, free-range eggs, tomatoes, salsa, jams, beef, watermelon, cantaloupe and even a couple of homemade soap booths. I bought a basket each of bell peppers, squash and okra – all for $6.

After spending some time there, I can’t believe I waited this long to go! I’ve always loved the idea of the farmer’s market for obvious reasons – you get fresh, local vegetables, and you get to support local farmers. Plus, I love that getting your veggies here helps dictate what you eat for the week – AKA, you’re eating what is in season, which helps keep you connected to creation (there’s a little bit of ecotheology for your Saturday – you’re welcome).

The farmers selling their goods were super friendly. One of them was a fellow graduate of my alma-mater, and told me that in his day, tuition was $33/hour (he’s the one in the red shirt, above). Another one chatted with me about the weather (overcast skies and a slightly cool breeze). Still another explained to me what a particular kind of funny-shaped squash was (I didn’t buy it, but as soon as I do some research on how to cook it, I will).

I’m pretty sure that this is where I’ll be buying most of my veggies, eggs, honey and even candles from now on. If you’re local to Abilene, come check it out!

2 thoughts on “The Abilene Farmer’s Market

  1. Yes, farmer’s markets are awesome; there are so many in Austin! I love the composition of your photo :) I also love that you’re reading A Song of Ice and Fire. Martin is one of my favorite authors – his writing style is so gritty and real, and he’s not afraid to ‘kill his darlings.’

Leave a Reply

